Back to learning Center

Florida Rideshare Insurance Requirements

Buckle Team
November 15, 2022

If you want to work for transportation network companies (TNCs) like Uber or Lyft, Florida is a great state to drive in. But there are specific Florida rideshare insurance requirements that you need to know about. This article will review regulations for rideshare insurance in Florida and discuss which policies offer the best options for Lyft and Uber driver insurance in Florida.

What Are Uber and Lyft Insurance Requirements?

Before discussing Florida rideshare insurance regulations, it would be helpful to understand Uber and Lyft Insurance requirements.

Both Lyft and Uber expect their rideshare drivers to carry personal car insurance that meets the state minimums. The Uber and Lyft requirements in Florida are the same as for other states.  

Purchasing a policy from Buckle is an excellent way to meet the requirements for Uber car insurance and Lyft auto insurance. We provide protection at reasonable rates.  

Lyft and Uber have numerous requirements for drivers beyond insurance, which can differ from city to city. So the rules for Tallahassee may not be the same as those for Miami. Be sure you clearly understand your obligations before becoming a Lyft or Uber driver.

What Are Florida Rideshare Insurance Regulations?

Now that we've discussed Uber and Lyft insurance requirements, we can look at Florida's rules. To understand Florida rideshare insurance regulations, you need to know about the four periods that TNCs have outlined:

  • Period 0: The app is off, and you're driving for personal reasons.
  • Period 1: The app is on, and you're waiting to accept a ride request.
  • Period 2: You've accepted a ride request and are on your way to pick up your rider.
  • Period 3: You're driving the rider to their destination.

Under Florida law, your personal auto insurance policy covers all accidents during Period 0 — Uber and Lyft have no insurance responsibilities when you're driving off-app.

But that changes with Period 1. At that point, Florida rideshare insurance regulations require Uber and Lyft to provide at least:

  • $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
  • $100,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $25,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident

With Periods 2 and 3, the insurance requirements increase to $1 million in each instance. Once you've dropped off a passenger, you return to Period 1 (as long as you're still on app), and the lower minimums apply.

Regardless of the period, Florida also requires coverage for personal injury protection and underinsured/uninsured motorists.

It's crucial to note that even when they comply with Florida rideshare insurance rules, TNCs can still require high deductibles. Plus, the required minimums for Period 1 may not be enough to cover all damages.

How Buckle Can Help With Lyft and Uber Driver Insurance in Florida

Buckle offers outstanding options for Lyft and Uber driver insurance in Florida. If you want Florida Uber insurance or Lyft coverage, you can't go wrong with a policy from Buckle. We developed our policies specifically for rideshare drivers and provide coverage whether you're on- or off-app. And we offer deductibles as low as $500.

Get Your Car Insurance From Buckle Today

Now that you understand Florida rideshare insurance requirements, you're ready for the next step. Buckle offers the Florida gig insurance you need to drive for TNCs. Whether you want insurance for Uber and/or Lyft drivers, we have a policy that will work for you. Contact us for a quick quote and see the difference that Buckle insurance can make.

WE HAVE EVEN MORE TO READ
Arrow up icon